-3 C/ 26 F

I woke to new snow
and the job to shovel it...
and cold is coming

~carliewired

I made sure I had my coffee and my breakfast before heading out the door before noon. My daughter and I took care of the new snow on the driveway first, but it keeps coming. 

I made my photo trip a short one. I drove into McArthur Island's east entrance and there were the deer! That little band of five, a buck and four does, seem to like the area around the slough. There are willows in that area which they seem to enjoy green or freeze-dried. They wandered across the loop road in front of me and grazed their way around the Rivers Trail. 

I continued on my way past the Butterfly Garden and to the west side of the park. Canada geese were in the playing fields and under the trees. 

The parking lot on the southeast side of the park held some 'parking lot ducks' that seem to know it's a place for handouts. When I stopped my car they immediately moved in my direction, then sat themselves down beside my car. While I was photographing them, someone in a small import car was popping wheelies in the lot behind the arena. The skids and fast turns threw snow up in a great shower. 

I was home again within a few minutes. I'm in for the day watching the snow come down. We may be out shoveling again before dark. 

We have a cloudy day with periods of snow and a high of -3 C. There are colder days and nights coming over the next week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.