Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Do you know your bridges?

Does the shape of this bridge look familiar? It is one of 3 famous coat-hanger bridges. The most famous is the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Then there is the Tyne Bridge. This is the Wearmouth Bridge in Sunderland where the river separates the town into north and south. The railway bridge runs alongside it.

I was always taught that the Wearmouth Bridge was built first and that the Tyne and Sydney Bridges were copies. Looking it up today I see that the Tyne and Wear Bridges were built at the same time and officially opened the same year.

I was in Sunderland visiting our relatives J and E who are both in hospital but on different wards. It was sad to see how frail they looked. J has no idea where she is but was happy to chat to me. She managed to recognise a photo of my mother as a young woman, but initially struggled to identify anyone in her own wedding picture.

E is happy that his wife is being looked after in hospital. The future for both is uncertain.

I visited the famous Kemps wool shop near the hospital and treated myself to wool for a cardigan.

This evening, to Madeleine's for dinner with friends. We met a couple from NZ who were staying as B & B guests. Later a couple from Sweden arrived with their university student son. It all made for interesting conversation.

PS Based on John Gravett's observations I have edited the image and lightened the sky slightly. Thanks John.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.