Sand Castles In The Snow

We three were all rather under the weather today and choked with the cold.  Uncle J had promised BB that he would take him out for breakfast – it’s a long overdue promise.  I am sure he didn’t reckon on me tagging along as well as his two grown up kids.  It was a Weatherspoons breakfast and he is obviously a seasoned customer as he ordered on the app.  We were intrigued when it offered me extra black pudding to go with my vegetarian breakfast.  I declined.  Not long after we ordered a waiter appeared and told us there were no eggs!!!  Eggs were being replaced with hash browns.  Not my favourite, but I put up with them.  It felt like a real treat.
 
When we got home BB and his sister had returned from church, but they had stopped off for coffees and scones on the way back!  no lunch was required.  Even though it was freezing and very icy,  I was keen to go out for a walk.  TT, his sister and I went to Whitley Bay.  It was really freezing there.  We had a quick walk at the front and then stopped off in the bookshop to thaw out and  warm up, before going back to the car.  When we got home the World Cup final had just started and Uncle J was in the middle of cooking Sunday dinner.   We ate at half time.   I only watched the latter part of the game, but it was quite exciting.  There were mixed loyalties in the house – so some were happy with the outcome, others were not. 
 
Once that was over, it was time for us to drive back home.  It seemed much milder back home, so I went for a wee walk in the dark to walk off the excesses of the weekend.  We have literally eaten our way through the weekend.  It was then home for an early-ish night as we were all worn out.
 
It was rather too cold for sandcastles on the beach today.  There was snow on the beach – see extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.