The other end of the village

We live at the southern end of the village, on the main (though unclassified) valley road. At the northern end, as this road passes the village hall and continues on to the next few villages, Park Lane leaves it and runs roughly west through this hollow before climbing up the next ridge. There's a mixture of housing, with a small "modern" (1970s?) development, a mixture of individual houses of various ages and sizes, and a late Victorian or Edwardian terrace. This mix, in age, architectural style and the probable affluence of the occupants, is one of the things we like about our village.

I went for a walk before lunch. It was a much brighter morning, and astonishingly mild after our sub-zero week. I walked with my coat unzipped, left my hat and scarf at home, and didn't take my gloves out of my pocket. I intended to do a circuit of the village, but somehow found myself climbing the steps and footpath from the village to the top of the hill, a walk I usually do in the opposite direction. It's always interesting to look at things the other way round. As I reached the flat stretch along the ridge, much of the cloud cleared and I was dazzled by glorious sunshine. It felt wonderful. The trees, grass and clouds were beautiful in this unaccustomed brilliance, but I've shared other views of them quite recently, so after a bit of hesitation I've chosen the view and kept my last extra for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.