THE OTHER SIDE

Busy, good but also sad day today.

Had to go over to my Mum's to pick up presents very kindly left for us from one of my gorgeous nieces.  Also had to have a quick few minutes with Caroline, Gladders and Gus.  Then get back home by about 1.30 to set up a funeral link for a good friend of Garron's who very recently suddenly died after having a severe stroke.   

Caroline (Mrs Gladders) and I wanted to meet up before Chriistmas as we have a lot to catch up on, but with them getting ready for their move (hard to think of them not being there), it was proving hard. So we decided that as I was popping  over to Morecambe today that I would pop in to see them, very briefly on my way home from there, about midday.

So duly this morning I left fairly early and was over at Mum's by 10.30 am.  A lot of traffic about and it was quite, you know that fine drizzly stuff where you don't realise you're getting wet until you are soaked to the skin!!

A quick chat then I popped over to Arnside via Carnforth and Warton.  I had decided to call into The Wolfhouse Gallery for a coffee as I would be a bit too early, but when I got there it was closed.  So no problem I thought I'd go over to Silverdale.  The Royal was also closed eeeek.. Then I though I would go to the cafe the Leighgton Moss.  Well this would have been fine, but as very oftenwhen I'm over that way I took a wrong turnng somewhere and ended up going into Arnside instead!!  

Never mind I called into the Sandpiper's cafe for a really lovely cappuccino and half a Bakewell Tart (the other half I've bought home).  I met a really lovely couple in there from Kirkby Lonsdale who often came over to Arnside and/or Grange.

I then popped oto the little pier to take this photo when I realised it was raining quite hard!!!

After that I just went on up to Gladders' house.  It was so lovely to see them both and of course wee Gussie - whom I made a fuss of, no complaints from him, as he loved it.  Sadly as I was delivering a present bag and it was pourig with rain I left the camera in the car so no photo of Gussie - eeeekkk.  I now wish I'd gone back for it, but I was conscious of time.  So I'm hoping Gladders will put a photo of the famous Gus very soon.

I got him in plenty of time for a very light lunch, then set G up for his online funeral service, coming live from Fife.  It's very weird in a way but so good to be able to attend in that way when getting there would have been impossible at the moment.

I think that's enough from me for today.  I now do not intend to leave home until after Christmas.  If the weather permits I will pop into town at some point and go for a local walk but that is all.

Do take care and stay safe everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.