A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Taking a bit of Yorkshire …

…to N. E. Somerset.

We made it, a long day but no real problems till we got to the A46 into Bath where there were traffic lights causing a tailback to the M4!
The girls were very pleased to see us, I brought the girls Nutcracker decorations for the tree. A dancing Clara for  Eda and the Mouse King for Jude. My chicken and cranberry casserole went down well for tea.

I’ve just had a marathon bedtime read with Eda and a snuggle in bed, worth all that travelling. We like to have long talks and tonight she wanted to talk about words. She was talking about Yorkshire words and how we say them and different words we use like we say tea and they say supper. Then she started sounding out letters for me to guess the word. So lovely.

We brought lots of food with us including the Christmas cake that Chris made that we’ve been feeding with Madeira wine. If you’re from Yorkshire you have to have it with cheese and that cheese should be Wensleydale. Chris wanted a truckle and we couldn’t find one. I went on the Wensleydale creamery (Hawes) site and of course they had them. I love it plain with cake but I also love Wensleydale with ginger which you rarely see, it’s usually with cranberries. I set to order it only to find my bill total was 9.50 and the minimum order was £10. I suppose I could have got another plain one but  decided to go the whole hog and get the Winter Warmer. If no one else eats it I certainly will!

Christmas is really starting now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.