African Heat

I had an uncomfortable start to my day as a result of my body's ongoing efforts to deal with a mild head cold. My sleep was punctuated by spells when my nose was running, and then blocked. 

Yuk. 

It took me a while to figure out how I was feeling this morning, and I had to skip Parkrun. Reflecting now, it was the right decision. 

I did go the football I had bought a ticket for, wearing 6 layers including a thermal vest. Guess I looked like the Michelin man. It was a local derby - Kelty Hearts v Dunfermline Athletic - so the picturesque wee ground was full and the atmosphere was lively. 

Kelty lost 1-2, but it was good entertainment. The sun came out briefly (1pm kick-off) but sank below the horizon minutes later. I thought I had better Blip it. 

I spent some time in the kitchen when I got home and conjured up some Ghanaian Redred to provide more inner heat. It is not exactly a festive dish, but it tastes good and I made enough for a couple of lunches over the coming days. 

Plantain and gari are not available where I live, and I did not feel like a trip to Edinburgh to source some. Maybe next week when the midwinter madness goes into brief remission. It is fine to eat the stew on its own, or with rice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.