I haven't done much with fungi this year

... and my memory isn't such that I remember names.  I saw a similar clump when I was on my walk with Liz and Mary-Ann yesterday and I know I've seen it in previous years.  I guess the clue is that it exists on rotting wood and I think I've seen it before on this fallen tree on the edge of Ayton Wood.

It's been a bright and sunny day, which has been very welcome and I had a short walk up the hill and back through the children's playground and onto the road.  It was much colder in the wind than I expected and there have been a series of totally unexpected light showers in the wind.  Looking at the blue sky I'm not sure where they came from.

I got a few interesting images of the fence posts and dead fronds of grass along the path which I might do something with (I've run out of extras) and I tried one or two in the children's playground when I was looking for `spots' - not sure about these.  The first time I've been out with a camera for a few days.

p.s. I've just been looking through my identification guides and the nearest I've come is to one of the `tuft' family - maybe sulphur Tuft (which is common).  One year I photographed a large area of, what I felt were Sulphur Tufts, but they weren't as bright as this.  (Not that colour is always a reliable guide.). I've looked back through my Blipfoto entries and I've photographed it before, but never felt able to name it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.