Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Boxing Day Walk

It was lovely to have some sun in the morning, which lifted my mood no end.  However I'd got engrossed in other things, so by the time I was ready to walk the sun was disappearing behind clouds.  I wanted a slightly longer walk than I'd been  doing recently but where to go?  In the end I chose the route down Dance Lane turning right onto Dance Common Lane and then right again onto Hermit Hill Lane before taking the small Well Houses road.  At this point I had no choice but to cross fields and splash around in the sodden turf and wade or try to avoid wading in the puddles.  I am sick of this wet weather and it's back with a vengeance this morning.  I took a few photos on my way round as a record of the route.  I always enjoy this view of Crane Greave Farm.  (Seen in extra on the morning that it snowed.)

I spent a bit of time when I got back checking the mileage of the circular  road routes which avoid me tramping over fields.  I think I could have gone up to Thurgoland and then back down Crane Moor Road and covered a similar distance - a bit more height to be gained on that route though.  I was tired by the time I was coming down hill and experienced a bit of a strange experience, so need to be mindful of that if I'm out on my own.

p.s. I've just discovered another self-portrait that I took on the morning of the 26th,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.