A very Merry Christmas

I'm not sleeping very well at the moment, so I was out of bed as soon as reasonable this morning, at 06:00am*. While Mr hazelh slept, I watched my talented godson Fionn perform as 'bartender' on the Christmas Eve broadcast of BBC's I can see your voice.

When Mr hazelh emerged, we ate our (normal) breakfast, then opened our presents. Mr hazelh was successful in sourcing all but one item on the list that I presented to him a few weeks ago (no Viennese truffles). He surprised me with some super comfortable bluetooth headphones to wear in bed so that I can listen to the radio when I can't sleep.

I gave him a tall mug, a case of craft beer (following suggestions made by Paddy), and a picture that I bought at an exhibition a couple of weeks ago. I was worried that he might not like the picture, and he did seem a bit dubious at first. However, as soon he hung it above the sideboard in the hall, we both decided that it looks lovely.

At 11:00 we started prep for lunch and the arrival of our guests - Katharine, Jack, Jon, and Jon's sister Mandy - at 14:00. We all had a super day, interspersing food, drink and chat with games of charades and Balderdash. Jon and Mandy were the first to leave just after 21:00. Jack and Katharine remained a while longer. They had the option of staying overnight with us, but decided to head home when they found it relatively easy to book a taxi at about 22:30.

I am looking forward to brewing stock tomorrow.

In my blip are our turkey, the table just as we sat down for our first course, and the Christmas pudding that I made on Thursday.

*Our six year nephew woke his parents at 3:30am this morning to complain that his clock was 'going too slowly'!

Exercise today: none (partying).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.