Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Special Visitor

I was surprised and pleased when I first saw this beautiful male Yellow-bellied Sapsucker (in the woodpecker family) three days ago.  No doubt he was attracted by all the other birds along with the lack of his normal food (sap, berries and insects).  Although these birds are seen here all year, they aren't typically feeder birds and they also don't spend winters this far north in large numbers.  In fact, the only winter I've seen one in my yard this late was when I had a first-year bird overwinter in our woods.  This guy has staked out on of the suet feeders where he is the reigning king, even trumping the Red-bellied woodpeckers, surprisingly.  I blipped this species (probably this individual, actually) back in late November HERE.  A shot in Extra showing his namesake belly.

Hubs had a virtual visit with our doctor this morning (who also asked to speak briefly with me) and is now taking an antiviral to help him kick the plague.  Shockingly, I tested negative again on a rapid test and am still waiting for the PCR results (a more accurate test).  I think I may sneak by without getting it, if I'm lucky.  I think the headache and sore throat I've been experiencing is nothing more than sinus "yuck" (which I'm prone to).  

I took Jax for a walk today, with both of us bundled up against the cold.  At least it was in the high 20's today with less wind.  Still cold.  Hubs and I did something we never do - we sat on the sofa and watched a movie this afternoon!  We had our "fur blankets" (Phoebe and Jax) so felt very toasty.  We watched the new release of Top Gun which, although not as good as the original, was still a fun flick.  

My parents sent a wonderful array of chocolate in our Christmas box, so we indulged in some lovely Oregon truffles today.  Sinful and delicious.  

Onwards...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.