Snow(ish) Day

It was very cold when we got up this morning and we decided to revise our plans. We had intended to go for a walk and then go to the ANTA sale, but this didn't seem such a good idea in view of the snow coming down. The pavements were very icy yesterday when we took a bit of a walk, and when we eventually went down to the supermarket today for a few bits and pieces they and the roads were lethal.

Anyway, I put the day to good use, working through a lot of the changes that need to be made to the piece that I'm finalising for publication. I know it's "working", but honestly it really isn't. It's an absolute pleasure to be doing something research-related and I don't get this sort of uninterrupted time to apply my brain during the normal course of things. Mr A was busy with his stuff too. We'll see what the weather brings tomorrow before we decide what to do. It should warm up a bit.

My Scottish-based cousin messaged in the afternoon to say that she and her husband will be staying in Dornoch on their way to see their son in Orkney, presumably for the new year. They are going to call in for a cup of tea on Thursday.

This evening I finished reading Tain Through the Centuries. Our neighbour gave us this book as a sort of house warming. I found it quite interesting, but to be honest what I really want to know more about is some of the more recent history rather than the details of the events of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, which got more attention in the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.