Riverbank Walk

Something screwy is definitely happening with our electrics in the kitchen. From around Christmas Eve or just before there have been sporadic bangs, sometimes accompanied by the lights flickering in other parts of the house. Today I made cheese toasties for Grace. After they were made she received an electric shock from tinfoil that was in contact with the wire of the toastie maker, which was switched off at the socket but still plugged in. Its light was still on too...

Then I tried to make cheese on toast for myself using the cooker and that chucked out loads of smoke and smelt like burning! This may not be connected to the other issues and due to something which splashed onto the heating element of the grill during the cooking of Christmas day lunch. With gritted teeth I made toast in the regular toaster, fortunately without incident.

We have an electrician coming round tomorrow to check the electrics in the kitchen. We do know that the wiring in there is pretty elderly... I do hope this won't be more expense we do not need...

After lunch Brian and I decided to go for a walk along the river bank for fresh air and to find Blips. I took loads of photos, most of which I deleted as they were terrible. Here's the least rubbish of the bunch!

It's back to work for me tonight. Zeiyit is now considered competent enough to serve customers during the quiet time before five o'clock so I no longer have to start early! That will make life a little easier at least! I'm not expecting tonight to be particularly busy.

Tomorrow and Saturday most likely will be! Lincoln City are at home to Bolton Wanderers tomorrow night which should attract a big crowd, and Saturday is of course New Year's Eve! If last New Year is anything to go by, if we play our cards right we should still be able to close on time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.