2 C/ 35 F

The year has ended 
mild and cloudy with wildlife
to attract my eye

~carliewired

There was just a dusting of snow overnight. It minutes I had it cleared. The air warmed soon enough that I did not need to scrape the windows or warm the car. My daughter took my little red bomber in to the dealership for its maintenance check while I got my last chance for a haircut this year. A drove the car home while I went for some groceries and a walk by Vantage Point for my blip. 

The snow has melted quite a bit already with our warming day temperatures. The Rivers Trail walk by the airport is largely exposed. Large patches of water have opened up along the river. There were no eagles to be seen today. Two magpies scampered in and out of a tree beside the river while keeping a good eye on me. The cloud cover is very low in the valleys today keeping my mountains well hidden. 

I arrived home with my groceries and slid into my recliner with my camera. My daughter asked if I'd seen the visitor in the backyard. There was a young buck curled up by the cedars. I was very quiet opening the patio door and stepping out onto the deck. He heard me and observed me carefully. As soon as I spoke, he was up on his feet looking for an exit. I was sad to see he was missing an antler and limping in his back quarters as if he'd injured one leg. He got himself over the gage wire fence and was gone. 

I'm in for the day and will be looking for a nap before dinner. 

The forecast promised a cloudy day with a chance of snow flurries or rain showers and a high of 2 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.