Last Day of the Year

There is sunshine and
blue sky on this freezing day.
Good-bye to this year!

~carliewired

I was out on my deck catching the first light of day at 7:30 AM. It was a calm, but chilly -23 C. 

I waited until 10 to drive off to Vantage Point near the airport. It gave me a great view of my mountains in the sunshine. It was a brisk walk in -20 C. I enjoyed the sparkle of the sun on the snow as I followed the Rivers Trail. It looked more like an Arctic trapline than a leisure walkway today. I kept my camera tucked inside my jacket so it didn't freeze. I looked out to the Thompson River and noticed how broken and snowy the surface was. The ice cracks and folds back on itself making something of a white moonscape. I was thinking the skater I had watched could not have come this far. The sagebrush of the summer was trapped in snow.
I was happy to make it back to the truck and head for home.

We can expect a sunny day with a high of -16 C. I will be home with my hobbies. 

This is a beautiful, if not cold, way to end the year. Good wishes to all for 2022! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.