January 1, 2022

A warming trend should
improve conditions for man
and beast - I'm grateful!

~ carliewired

I managed to stay awake until midnight for New Year's Eve. I didn't look outside but I could hear a lot of fireworks in my neighbourhood. 

I was awake all too early, drinking coffee and working in the kitchen. By 9 I had stripped the ham shank and had it in the crockpot to turn it into pea soup. It was - 17 C so I wasn't in any hurry to venture outside. It was grey and a little windy. I went back to bed to get more of my quota of sleep.

At 10:45 I left for McArthur Island Park.  The city had come by sometime yesterday and swiped part of my cul de sac and tossed out some sand. Luckily, I did not have to clear their mess this time. 

Traffic was very light. Most businesses and services are closed for the holiday. The roads were in good condition with some icy patches. As expected, there were very few people in the park this morning. 

When I drove in by the Butterfly Garden, there was a small flock of Canada geese along the parking area as before. I rolled down my window to take my first shot. 

I drove to the south side and parked near the Rivers Trail so I could walk back to the mini golf area. I was surprised that the old golf bag and clubs mounted near the sign was still there. I walked in behind the club house and spotted a deer in the distance. I'm sure there were more in the trees but I could not see them. 

I walked back to the truck catching a view across the frozen Thompson River and Rabbit Island. The university's conference centre tops the hillside. 

I drove to the southeast side of the park to see a flock of mallards squatting in the parking lot. I seem to remember finding them there last winter, too. I wondered what they were finding to eat. 

I was home for lunch and grateful to be indoors again. I will keep my sewing machine company today and wait for the pea soup to be ready. 

The weatherman has forecast a high of -13 C today with a chance of flurries in the afternoon.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.