Warming Up!

It is trying to
be a nice day - slivers of
blue and sun  emerge

~ carliewired

I was up very early in the dark taking a read on the weather and puddling in the kitchen. After a pot of coffee, I made myself a spinach quiche for breakfast. I gathered all the pieces of cheese that needed to be used up and put it all together. 

It was still looking grey and gloomy after breakfast. I decided more sleep was in order. It was supposed to warm up today, so later would be better for a walk. 

At 11 AM I backed the truck out of the garage to drive to Riverside Park downtown. It was -5 C, calm and felt like a spring day after what we've been having. 

I parked near the tennis courts to walk up the ramp to the Overlander Bridge. I stopped halfway up as a brisk wind hit me. I got a view of my mountains and the confluence of the rivers. There is some open water there. I could hear the Canada geese but could not get them in my sights. I looked to the west to see the Overlander Bridge stretching to the north shore. I took note of the "Survivor Tree" I see near the south shore. It has held on there in times of high water. It seems to be perched on rock and timbers. 

That brisk wind caught me again as I turned back to the parking lot. It removed any illusion that spring had sprung. I tucked my camera inside my jacket and pulled my sleeves down over my bare hands. 

I walked back down into the park with a cold wind in my face. Near the ramp a small rock cairn had been propped up near a tall tree. I walked on past the Celtic stones which look lovely in snow. I was glad to get back into my truck and head home. Winter is playing with us. 

Now that I'm home in my recliner the sun has come out and is streaming into my living room. Sorry I missed it! 

I'm home for another quiet day by myself. I have the radio and my sewing machine for company. 

The forecast was for a high of -7 C but we've already improved on that. We might expect periods of snow beginning this afternoon. Oh, goody! More snow!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.