Happy New Year ...

... from our house to yours!

It was another gorgeous day with lots of sunshine and temps in the mid 50's ... simply lovely.  I spent the morning working on Yesterday's picture and then after lunch we went to Natural Land's Mariton Wildlife Sanctuary.  I had my heart set on seeing a chipmunk today which is why we chose this location.  I knew the odds were against me as it is January but I was hoping the warm weather would bring some out.  I was to be disappointed as we didn't see any.

But we did see lots of other birds and a few squirrels.  And I'm happy to say that my first bird picture of the year was of this lovely blue jay (upper left) shot in our own backyard.  Also pictured in my collage is a tufted titmouse (upper right), a white-breasted nuthatch (bottom right) and an eastern gray squirrel.   And of course, a silly portrait of the two of us!

On our way home we stopped at Barnes & Noble to look at their calendars.  Sadly, the one I was looking for wasn't available ... but I'll keeping looking as it's the calendar I usually buy each year.  

For supper I made pork and sauerkraut in the slow cooker as this is a Pennsylvania Dutch tradition that we have adopted.  It's said that eating pork is good luck and eating chicken on January 1 is bad luck.  The reason is that pigs root forward as they eat while chicken root backwards.  And I'm not one to mess with tradition so it's always pork on January 1 for us!

Happy New Year to all my family and friends ... especially my lovely blip friends!  ♥♥♥

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.