Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

A blast from the past

We had a delicious roast of lamb on New Year's Day. There was lots left over, so yesterday we had it sliced in gravy. For today I decided to turn to my favourite use for leftover lamb from my childhood and make Shepherds Pie.
I put a note on my local fb page to see if anybody could lend me a mincer. I've owned at least two since we got married one of which was an attachment for my Kenwood but neither seems to be here any longer. One responder laughed at me but another offered to lend me one. I went to pick it up this morning. They actually had two, hanging from a clothes pulley in their kitchen. I think they were there as unusual items rather than to use. They advised me to give them a good wash before use so I did. I put them to soak in cooking oil too which both lubricated and help remove some of the rust!
My next challenge was that the bracket you use to attach it to a work surface couldn't cope with 21st century thick worktops. Undaunted though, I attached it to a trusty Ikea breakfast bar stool and set to. I produced some very acceptable mixed lamb. I even ground up a slice of bread in the mincer as I remembered mum doing. I couldn't actually find a recipe which hadn't been updated and gentrified, even Mrs Beeton didn't look familiar. So I improvised! I fried up some onion, carrot and mushroom, added the minced lamb and some thick gravy and transferred it to a dish. The potato was mashed and ready and I relived my days of helping mum as I ran the fork through it before putting it in the oven.
We thoroughly enjoyed it at dinner, with the addition of the only commercial sauce which I like - Lea & Perrins sprinkled over the meat once it was served. It brought the whole thing alive and tasted remarkably as I wanted it too.
We always had shepherd's pie at home, never cottage pie, made with beef mince. Not sure why, but we'll be having it again.
Just need to find myself a new mincer now. I see they are really available on Amazon so I'll head to an iron mongers - or drysalters, dependent on where you are from, soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.