Windmill 'De Koning', Middelburg

'De Koning' means 'The King'.  Elvis?

There was a narrow window of good weather that began late in the morning and ended mid-afternoon.  I thought I would take a chance.  Can you see the slight blush of sunlight on the bricks?  That did not last long but it was just enough for a few shots, and I mean a handful, no more.  On my way back, patches of showers and drizzles, but it stayed thankfully dry during the photo shoot itself.

The King had its back to the parking area right beside it, which would have been ideal for panoramic shots.  I have the feeling, though, that the miller never turns the mill to face that side.  Every single time I passed by, I had to tell myself to shoot it another time.  Today, though, I thought I'd just see what I could do.  No panoramas, no frontals, just this rather elegant profile.  There was no time for anything else anyway.  In front of it is a playground, or a park, and it is standing inside private property, with the gate closed, and padlocked, most of the time.

And that was the fourth, and last, of the Middelburg windmills.

Before the hunt, spent time emailing some of my ideas to the Viking, focusing on the administrator's work and how to help her out.  Doña will have a load to do and I would not want her to back out, so he and I will need to prepare a lot even before she gets sworn in.  It's good to think ahead and anticipate some issues, and then later scrap what will not work, rather than do absolutely nothing now and then scramble in a panic.  Also, school will start next week again, and I wonder if I'll have just as much time then to plan strategy.

The rest of the day was spent on housekeeping -- laundry, ironing (blipper Acula is very aware of how important this particular chore is!), kitchen duties, and some cleaning.  Once in a while, a game or two broke the routine.  In the evening, Death in Paradise (again!), and then AW left for Tuesday live bridge in Oudenbosch.

A full day in every sense of the word.  No idea if I'll go hunting later in the week as rain has been predicted.  As a matter of fact, it is raining right now.  The sound will put me to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.