All Saints Church, Gresham

I have promised myself that I will try to give myself a walk either before work (that isn't working!) or in my lunch break. So that means making a packed lunch like I used to when going to the office each day. Today I made it after breakfast, and ate my lunch at my desk, before heading out at 1pm for a walk into the village.

I tried to march, but the footpath was very slippery with rotten leaves. I went in to the church yard and looked at the gravestones. I find them interesting, especially the old names. I found one I might use in a future story. Then I went into the church. It was nice to see it was open to visitors, and I'm ashamed to say I have never ventured inside before. The 15th century church is renowned for its links with the Paston family, and it has a rare, well preserved and important seven sacrament font. I read bits inside about the castle, the Pastons and history. They have a lottery grant to renovate and preserve the building.

I went back to my desk having spent a bit longer out in the fresh air than planned, but it was a welcome break. I worked until 5.20, still basically doing my old job. Maybe next week, or the week after I'll get more instruction on taking the next steps.

I had the remainder of the fish pie, and Mollie made chestnut and mushroom hot pot for her and Jon. I didn't fancy that.

Yesterday I cancelled my subscription to Ancestry as it was due to renew automatically at £120 whereas last year I had got a new year half price offer, and thought it worth seeing if they did the same again. Today, that proved to be the case, and an offer popped up via Facebook. I clicked on it and got the annual membership for £59.99. I am really happy! Saved £60 and with no gap in my research time.

Now it is Death in Paradise, a new series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.