A day in this 'Fine City'

It has been so nice to spend a full day in Norwich and reminds me how much I miss this beautiful historic city, since working from home has become the norm.

We didn't get up early, but I think Henry and Mollie might dispute that. Left home at 9.30 and were in the City and parked by 10.30. I wanted to browse at least one of the big antique shops on Magdalen Street, on the way from the car. Then onwards from there to the Cathedral cafe where we had our elevenses.

Then systematically Mollie and I forced the men round a rota of clothes shops, where we succeeded in obtaining many bargains. A shop called 'New U' sells very good quality second hand clothes, and gives points to be spent in their shop for items donated. Mollie had a large number of points, and we succeeded in finding 4 items, including a brand new skirt with tags still attached, for a total of £9.50 plus 20 points. We still have 60 points left and so will be returning.

I bought 2 dresses in TK Maxx. I couldn't decide which one to buy. Then on to M & S for bubble bath, talc and a refill for my soap bottle - a great idea, cheaper and more environmentally friendly.

We looked at wool and patterns. Mollie ordered a jumper this week and was very disappointed with the fit and look, compared to the picture online. So it is going back, but I suggested if we could find a pattern and wool, it would be a good project for her. We found wool, but no pattern, but price wise it wasn't too bad. So the search is on for a pattern.

At 2pm we met Daniel at Pizza express for dinner. I had changed up some tesco vouchers which covered 60% of the cost. A belated birthday family day out. We were given a table by the window overlooking St Peter Mancroft. Afterwards, I took Jon into the church to show him an exhibition about the first peal rung there in the 1700s.

It has been a full day, and Dan has gone off back to his home and we are heading to ours. Can't wait to get that kettle on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.