Stone Built.

I hope you like this as I enjoyed taking it.  It was a dampish day too, but came near the end of a good day out.  There is a history to this building.  On this site there used to stand a purple house which divided opinion.  The 'Purple house' was called Rigg Beck, a name that has stayed but now built of Lakeland stone. (You can Google it.)  This one of my entries for the Architecture Competition and 'jokingly' the judge thought I had photographed a public toilet until somebody gave him a brief description of its history.  Apparently people have bought toilets around where he lives, sorry my friends in Dumfries.  The owners have included a purple garage door which you can see.  However, I like it from this angle, which I thought was the best I saw.  Looking at other photos maybe I should have concentrated on just a part of the building, eg the curved wall, so I did learn a few tips.  
Another of my selections received a third place and is the extra-St. Mary's Battersea-and you know when you see something and it has to be photographed.  We are frequently told that if you like a photo then it IS ok and being a member you do pick up useful tips.
By the way it rained overnight and early this morning, so I started early and began to take 'rainy photos' for the U3A display in February.  It is now sunny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.