Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A Roman defeat

This is locally known as Limestone Corner and it is where the Romans were defeated by the hard, volcanic whinstone as they tried to dig the ditch to the north of the Wall. The ditch was never completed here. (Note that the rock is not limestone I cannot find why the area has this name.)

I rather like the idea that it was not all plain sailing as they erected their magnificent wall and took over all trade in the area. 

I was out briefly this afternoon. I did not walk far because the views were so magnificent that I wanted to drink them in. To the north I could see Cheviot with a large hat of cloud. The low light as the sun set showed up the rig and furrow system employed by farmers many, many years ago.

I had the section the Hadrian's Wall Trail to myself.

Otherwise it has been a very quite day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.