Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Roasted

This is the old Henny Penny in Merwether.  A fast food outlet where you could buy roast chickens and other products.  The history of this place goes back to the Steggles family.  These days, people will know of Steggles as a chicken empire (maybe it is more NSW based). Brothers, Jack and George Steggles, founded the original firm, Steggles Bros in 1919.  They initally ran a produce store in Newcastle and then expanded to importing horse feed from South Africa to service the pit ponies in the mines.  Bruce Steggles, the son of Jack Steggles, after a trip to America, opened the first Henny Penny here in Merewether in 1968.  I believe it was established before the Golden Arches made it to Australia and was the first Australian fast food outlet.  Further Henny Penny's were established and there is still one not far from me.

So this site has some historical significance if you call a fast food outlet historical.   It is still owned by the Steggles family who have no intention of selling, leasing or doing anything with it.   Nearby residents tut tut at this and cry "shame!" I am not sure when it fell into disuse but  I can remember it being a running business in 1988.

The graffiti has been added since 2017 as I found a photo taken then and there was no graffiti other than the word "Happy"  It is fenced off so I am not sure how that was done but these graffiti artists have their ways don't they.

Tagged for DS and thanks for hosting Marlieske

And for those who were interested in the fruit and nut loaf, I have put a shot of some slices up in the extra.  A little heavy but nice toasted.  I think I need to double the dough amount to the same amount of fruit and nuts and an overnight proving will be better.  I also need to use just cinnamon as the spice rather than my chai spice mix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.