River Walkway

We had a slow start to the day again.  It was another lovely day, and the river was a little higher than it had been yesterday.  I went out for a  walk to stretch my achy hip, as I knew I would be sitting in the car for a long time today.  It was frosty under foot.  I checked the river out a little further downstream.  It’s amazing how much water is flowing down the river.  It was then back home for breakfast and to pack up and get ready for the drive home. 
 
We headed up the A!, but took a detour up the A68.  As it was such a lovely day, there were great views to be had.  We stopped off in Corbridge, thinking we would have some lunch.  That didn’t work out, as there were very few places open and those that were, were already packed.  We picked up some snacks from the co-op and decided we would have a takeaway for tea when we got home.  We did pay a visit to the lovely bookshop and a few purchases were made – mostly by TT.  I did buy a book that I am looking forward to reading, but need to finish my current book first.
 
We made good time home from Corbridge.  The house was freezing, so I left the boys with their coats on and went out to stretch my hip off again.  Later we enjoyed an Indian takeaway.  I think my hip is easing off slightly.  Fingers crossed.   We watched the Banshees of Inisherin this evening, followed by a couple of episodes of Mortimer and Whitefish Gone Fishing.

Another view of the flooded River Ouse this morning.  This is where TT and I were able to join the river walkway on Friday afternoon. Not possible today! The extra is a rather lovely wreath which I spotted hanging outside a shop in Corbridge.
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.