Ex-shed

I made space for a brisk (and rather breathless) walk up the hill before lunch. When I first walked up this lane, soon after we moved here in 2013, this heap of rusting metal was a somewhat ramshackle but nonetheless intact small shed. Gradually, it disintegrated and sank into the grass. Now, on summer evenings, the rabbits hop all over it, and doubtless burrow under it too. The beehive to the left of the rusting remains appears to be intact, though I don't know if it's inhabited or tended by anyone. A little further away, invisible in this shot, are three more hives which I noticed for the first time today. I will try to find out about them.

Today's other discovery was a rotting tree stump beside the track as I entered the wood, which was covered with frilly bands and layers of what I've now identified as Chicken of the Woods fungus. I had only taken the compact camera, and the quality of the close-up photos I took is not great, but I hope to go back with the good camera in a day or two and try to capture something fit to share, though the very low light level in the wood will be a challenge for hand-held macro shots. The fungus is apparently easy to identify accurately, tasty and eminently edible, but the owner of this part of the wood is a fungus eater, so I probably won't take my ice cream tub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.