Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A wet and windy day

The weather today was horrible. It was wet and windy all day, and not at all appealing for a walk. I had to drag Xena out for a walk, and when we got to the woods she squished up as far in back of the car as she could go and would not get out the car - I don't think there is a dog who hates the rain more than her! Afterwards she was muddy and miserable, but not too wet as she wore her raincoat today (see extra). There was nothing eye catching to photograph so here is an ICM of some birch trees in the woods.

The plumbers arrived this morning to fix the leak in the bath upstairs and some other leaks in the boiler room. The were shaking their heads at the poor level of workmanship in fitting that bath, there were three leaks there as parts had just been left off - anyway they videoed it and Gavin has those video files to submit to the insurance broker so hopefully they can see it is not just repairs and maintenance but faulty building works from when the house was originally built. They also found many leaks with the boilers and surrounding piping so that is all being attended to, it will now be a three day job instead of a two day job. 

I was pretty much stuck at home today as needed to be on hand if the plumbers needed to show me something and it looks like I will now be stuck at home for most of the week. It seems I am always at home with workmen as we seem to have them around frequently!

A bit of a whinge about John Lewis (for those outside the UK they are a popular and highly regarded group of department stores selling everything). I often buy things from John Lewis as it is very convenient ordering something online from them and using their click and collect option to collect the item from my local Waitrose store, but lately I have found they when returning an item they have been very tardy in giving the refunds. The last two items have not been refunded until I phoned to query it, and the latest purchase I made from them that was returned in mid December still has not been refunded despite contacting them and a case number being raised. I am not sure what has happened to their customer service as usually refunds are given within a few days. A second case number has now been raised so I wait to see what happens...

Luckily I did get my parcel of my memory card from the Post Office today, it finally turned up and I was able to collect it. 

And after having no snow when we were in Switzerland it started snowing there yesterday and it has not stopped, so they are all very happy about getting fresh snow again and hopefully their ski season will be saved. 

Is anyone going to read this rubbish? And there were not even queues to buy the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.