Tougher than it looks

Yet another abominably wet day after a very windy night. There was a fairly noisy thunderstorm this morning which gave the cats quite a fright, then it settled down to more rain. So it's been another day in front of the computer, writing an article for the Scottish Rhododendron Society magazine and sorting (more) photographs. I've also agreed to write a monthly blog for the Scotland's Gardens Scheme website, so I did a bit of that too. Every month I'll be describing an unusual plant that I've grown, or tried to grow!

I only went out once, to put the recycling bin out, and spotted this potted plant which is my Blip today. Not sure if I've Blipped it before. When I bought it some while ago, three of them actually, they were called Aloe striatula - I'd seen them growing at Tresco in the Scilly Isles and bought seed there. The plants grown from that seed were planted out at Arduaine where they seemed to be happy. 

After coming to Oban I bought three plants from an online nursery and planted them in a wooden tub. They've survived a few winters outside and haven't been touched in the frost this year. So if you want something exotic-looking for your garden, why not try this! Oh silly me! I forgot to say! It's had its name changed and it's now Aloiampelos striatula! The flowers, when they arrive, are rather like slender yellow red-hot pokers, if you can have such a thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.