Friday

I raced out this evening to find a flower, there are plenty in the garden but the spring flush has gone and summer seems to crisp up the remaining blooms or as today there was a thunderstorm. I found a few bedraggled blooms including this lily  (I think it’s a Japanese Variety). Most of the blooms have gone over the fence so I hope Anna is enjoying them. I also found out that some of my Mondo Grass has flowered. The extra is for my records. The flower is only a few millimetres wide. 

I did the ironing this morning while listening to a podcast on Sarah Parry who built a Tall Ship and now sails around the country with a minimum crew of 14. All from original drawings and charts that were hidden away in museums. Then I took up some shorts that are about 15 years old and I never liked the length. It takes me a decade or two to get things done. Most people would go and buy a new pair but I don’t like shopping for clothes or throwing them away until they are really old.

Seeing it was raining I couldn’t walk so got on the indoor bike and listened to a story about Anna Yen who ran away to join the circus when she was 25 and is now a playwright. She researched her family history for her plays including her Chinese family in Hong Kong and Father who came out as a labourer and set up a take away restaurant in Sydney in 1950.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.