Grey Heron

I saw the young female at her spot in front of the dovecote, with the male on top of it looking down. When I started feeding her the male flew down only to be immediately chased! I continued feeding the young female and managed to sneak a couple of bits to the male who was further back. However, if he didn't get to it quickly the female was right on it. I then made my way to the regular male who was standing patiently waiting. I saw the young female and the male land behind me but I always feed the regular male first then split what is left with the others. I looked slightly round and saw what I thought was the young female at my feet only to discover it is another one who appears to be a bit younger than the aggressive one. It is certainly the one from yesterday but I suspect it has been around before that. She is so very trusting but I suspect quite clever as well the others will not come as close to me so she gets a good feed. The photo is of the passive female with the aggressive one in the extras. The crows met me along the road home and got their biscuits.

I am not sure if the young one is going to return but who knows she surprised me before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.