A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Agatha

Finished my World of Agatha Christie jigsaw yesterday after I got back from a lovely luncheon at the Busfeild Arms.

It was quite easy but fun to do. I’ve added my bargain book to the blip too and notice it’s got a sticker on for £1 not 50p buy still quite a bargain!

We have visited Greenway in Devon, her holiday home,  which is now a National Trust property. 
I’m not sure why I’m a fan but I think she was a remarkable woman of her time. 
When I was at college I had to get work with young children during my first summer. I lived with a family in Ilkley with two small boys and it included going to an apartment in Spain for two weeks, (which to be honest was the carrot of the job as I’d not been abroad at that time, I wasn’t that keen on the boys!) The only books in the apartment were cowboy stories and Agatha Christie which is certainly why I started reading them. I’ve not been keen on the TV series, perhaps it’s David Suchet, but I’ve enjoyed various film adaptations over the years.

Having just seen the  Lucy Worsley programme I might not read the book for a while but I’m sure I will get round to it. I missed her talk at the King’s Hall in Ilkley last year as by the time I was aware of it it sadly it was sold out, a sign of her popularity.

I’ve got quite a few more jigsaws lined up to do but I’m quite hooked on this series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.