Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visit to Newcastle

I have loved Newcastle ever since I went there in 1970 as a student. There is a vibe about the city that is rarely absent.

Today I took the train from Hexham because Julie and I were going to the matinee of The Shawshank Redemption.

It was bitterly cold, so I made a bee line for the café at the Catholic Cathedral. It is always warm and the food is good. My ham salad did not disappoint.

I then wandered through the Clayton Street area. This is the downtown part of the city. Jay (pictured) stopped me to ask if I knew where Sainsburys was. I didn't, but I asked if I could take her photo.

This image looks good in mono, but I thought that the Red Bull and the Boo and the stripy top, all had to be in colour.

She was delightful but giving a stereotypical image of young people in the city. I suppose she was rather well covered to make it the true stereotype. (How they all go around at night in low cut dresses is beyond me. The men are in white tee-shirts and black trousers!)

The play was excellent. I was surprised the the theatre was not full, but it gave us the chance to moved sideways and avoid looking at the heads in front of us.

If you have a chance, do catch this production.

Afterwards, we went looking for somewhere to eat. The first four places did not serve until 5. Harry's was open, but we did not feel welcome when we said we did not have a reservation.  Once we were seated and Julie caught the eye of a waiter, all was well. My risotto was delicious and the cappuccino was silky and smooth. Mmmm.

Home on an earlier train than planned and in the house by 7pm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.