Storm's a Comin'....

I finally made it to the optometrist to pick up my new prescription sun glasses; they have been ready since Dec. 15, but what with the holidays and my optometrist vacationing in Brazil and all those gray, dull, dreary days when going out did not hold much appeal, I just never got around to driving over to get them...which turned out not to be a problem as in all that time I think we only had one and a half days of sunshine! No need for sunglasses....

We had a storm alert for today and tomorrow, so it wasn't a day for doing much that involved driving on the roads, so there went my plan for shopping for vacation clothes on the way home! Good decision because by the time I got home, the winds were howling and viciously whipping the snow sideways..and when it hit windows it landed like rain, but if held there in a screen, it immediately froze! 

Perfect snow I guess if you want to make a snowman, but too heavy for shovelling if you have a heart condition! 

What amazed me throughout all this was that all the birds were out there fighting against the wind, desperately trying to get a morsel from the feeders and constantly dashing back into the shrubbery and hedges for shelter... One would think they would just shelter and stay there but I guess they knew that this was only the beginning and if they wanted to eat, best to do it now before the feeders were frozen and piled with snow! Impossible to get a clear photo of dashing birds in blowing snow, so once again, a helpful app to the rescue.

We will be digging out of all this tomorrow....Remember how happy I said I was to see white snow? I guess I should be careful what I wish for!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.