Spring promise

There is a tree in our shared garden that blossoms much earlier than all the rest. It looks lovely against a blue winter sky.

It's been another busy day chez hazelh. We've done six loads of washing, made the Thursday trek to the supermarkets, been to the dentist (twice in my case), taken receipt of all the equipment for the new gas boiler installation tomorrow, and hosted a separate visit from the man who will do the installation (quite the comedian). I have also done some work and cooked a delicious sausage and broccoli stew for supper.

The two visits to the dentist were my high and low points of the day. The low came first. Mr hazelh and I are both rather upset that our lovely dentist has left the practice and felt a little unsure after our check-ups with her replacement this morning.

The high came this afternoon when I returned to the practice for an appointment at the end of an 'open day' about cosmetic dentistry. I had (and still have) no intentions of letting anyone fiddle around with my teeth when they are in good working order, but I was interested to learn that there would be a chance to see 'before' and 'after' shots of my own set of gnashers if I visited for a short consultation.

I was completely straight with the dentist touting his wares (a different person from the one that I saw this morning), but he was still happy to chat with me about my asymetric smile (similar to that of Tom Cruise, and due to sharing the same problem as him - until he had his teeth fixed) and my tiny, over-crowded mouth. The dentist scanned my teeth, uploaded the shots to the computer, and generated a series of pictures.

As far as I am concerned, the difference that any treatment would make to me would be barely noticeable - a bit like adding half an inch to my height - and hardly seems worth it for the expense and hassle. Still, I really enjoyed my conversation with the lovely dentist. We covered a lot more than dentistry, and if I ever change my mind, I will know who to contact.

Exercise today: 30 minutes on the exercise bike; walking (10,834 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.