Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

[Fat] Bike Ride

(29/1/23)

G had to get a taxi to school today! :(

Eileen and I had to be ready for an 8 AM pick-up by Diane. We are going to hire fat bikes and ride around the lakes at Al Qudra. Not all the lakes, but just one section!

Diane is a regular rider; as for E & me - we er, managed, struggling a bit. It took me several days to recover from a sore BTM! Anyway, it was a great experience and we were all very happy we did it. Diane now wants G to try it, so we have to find a day when that's possible.

We went on to show Eileen one of the look-outs. She was amazed at how many black swans she saw - something you don't see in the UK. In the end, we cycled 10kms (Diane said 3km). The 2km straight stretch on a paved road at the end was the most comfortable!

We got home and I had to find some wheels for the next few days. I cannot believe how difficult it is to hire a car now. A budget one anyway. One particular business on the street I live on really wasted my time. Long story short, I ended up using an eKar to fetch G. We were going to ride the metro home, but called into Sixt instead and voila - I managed to secure a car at a reasonable price for two days. That will see us through to the end of Eileen's visit and then we can sort things out later.

We got home in time for me to have a shower and a cup of tea before we had to get dressed again - to go out to Ladies Night at the Warehouse! Diane joined us.

I didn't mention - the hire car we got was a 2023 JAC J4A - a Chinese car!!! It had a sunroof but we didn't get the benefit of it.

Great evening out; good food, good company, nice venue, nice wheels to get there and back. Think we were home by 10:30 - not too bad! :))

I didn't dare suggest we ride on MBR Boulevard with the sunroof open!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.