pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Fine Dining

LadyV and I had a nice lazy start to the day before heading out to collect a breakfast bar for my kitchen.

I’d been umming and ahhhing about it for ages, but in consultation with her ladyship and seeing that it had come down in price, I went for it. Hopefully, it will make a nice addition to the kitchen and I’m sure the wee ones will love it.

We popped into Currys where I circled the laptops, my tech is over 10 years old now and is starting to show its age, so I feel that an upgrade may soon be required. We didn’t stay too long as her ladyship had booked us into the Gilpin Spice for lunch - her treat! We started with some shumai (a Chinese dumpling for the uninitiated), which were delicious, but we did feel a little guilty about eating in one go as we had just watched the chef prepare them and use tweezers to apply the finishing touches.

The view was good (see photo), the food incredible with such attention to detail, the kitchen calm and quiet (take note Gordon effin Ramsay), so we sat talking and comparing notes with a glass of Malbec in our respective hands and without a care in the world. There was even pudding, which was a scrumptious Jamaican Ginger cake. The finest of dining and as we left, I felt very lucky and very spoiled, but I’m finding that LadyV tends to have that effect on a man.

We had a quiet afternoon and then at tea time, I was treated to baked camembert, sourdough bread for dipping and all the usual accoutrements for a fancy picky tea accompanied by more red wine.

I have never eaten so well nor gained so much weight in a single day.

Totally worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.