This Day and Age

Two elements of my morning:
* I usually attempt some form of “To Do” list at the beginning of the year. It’s a way of focussing. It’s taken me until today to get around to it - and whilst doing it I ticked off some of the things I needed to do, which is immediate progress. It’s also the start of this new moleskine book, a journal/to do habit I started in early 2020.
* I’ve taken in the things J requested today, and added “This Day and Age”. It’s a poetry book which J first had at school. She loved the book so I bought a second hand copy I found for her one Christmas or birthday. First published in 1960 its stated intention was to introduce “modern” (1919 onwards) poetry to children, and it succeeded. Poetry was missing from my school curriculum. I read poems for the first time when I bought a couple of anthologies produced by the bespectacled head librarian at the university I attended. Some of the greatest poems in the English language in my humble opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.