BOLTON-BY-BOWLAND

Despite the weather we went to Bolton-by-Bowland on the edge of the Forest of Bowland, Lancashire - not far from Clitheroe.  We went up the A590, along the A65 just past Settle and then turned off onto unclassified roads.  We almost gave up as I thought we'd got lost but the road we took was just very twisty and turny and the the drizzling weather didn't help matters.

It is quite a pretty village with two greens and lots of history  It has a small but good little car park, with toilet facilities - yeah!!!.  We went straight to the tea shop just for coffee.  It is a local food shop plus tea room.  TIm, the owner said he now only does tea, coffee and cakes - well that is fine for us.  Somewhat rustic inside (old fashioned, not necessarily in a good way).  It was however clean and friendly and provided us with what we wanted.

St Peter's and St Paul's Church
It was difficult to get a good shot of the outside of the church due to its location, walls and gate, however I did manage to get one.  We spent a little time in the church looking around and findingout a few things.  No-one around for information though.  Still I could look it all up when I came home, which I have since done.

Coach & Horses
For lunch we went into the local pub - well 5 star foodie pub is more accurate.  It was very lovely - the food was excellent.  It oculd be a bit pricey, however for lunch we just needed something small so we went for a local cheese & meats platter - which was DELICIOUS.  Very good service. Not very busy on a Thursday lunchtime in January.
The pub a won so many awards and it is a place you can stay as well.   I should think on nice days it would be glorious as there is fabulous walking country around the area.
Sawley Abbey
On the way home I decided to use Google Maps for directions and it took us through the tiny village of Sawley.  I was so surprised when we drove straight past some signifcant old ruins.  So we stopped in the Village Hall car park whilst I went to investigate.
Unfortunately although open and free there is fencing all around a significant part of the abbey so not great for photos, but I did manage some.  The info signs were also in extremely bad condition.  However the is currently a conservation programme going on there so maybe that will be all sorted later in the year.
We then just came home.  Got a little wet but not too bad as we managed to avoid the rain most of the day.
I'm a bit late in posting this now, for me anyway but at least I've done it.  I will catch up on your blip tomorrrow.
Do take care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.
PS:  Once I've edited the photos I will share some via collages with you you don't have to look if it's not your thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.