Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Focus

I thought I'd post this in advance of the next TinyTuesday challenge (theme "focus") just as an example of something that fits the theme.  In this case, I shot these two old spools of thread in low light (with side lighting from a small torch).  I used a wide open aperture to keep the focus just on the red thread.  And then I did some small adjustments in LR to emphasize the red color.  This won't be everyone's cup of tea, but I am partial to moody shots like this - and these old spools of thread are endlessly interesting to photograph.  They belonged to my MIL - and perhaps even her father who was a tailor.  

This morning I had an appointment with my GP to talk about this sleep issue I am having as well as some ongoing back pain.  I don't know if we have any clear fix for the sleep but I have a script for PT for my back which I'm happy about.  I honestly think the only thing needed to fix the back pain is the right stretching exercises.  I really like my doctor so much - I've been with him nearly 20 years and one could say we've aged together (he turns 69 next month).  We had some good laughs this morning about the aging process.  

Before I left for the doctor's office, Hubs presented me with two pieces of a $20 bill I'd left on the kitchen table.  Yes, you guessed it - one brindle dog had grabbed it and about 1/3 of it was missing (no doubt inside the dog).  Irritating but, if I'm being honest, slightly humorous too.  Anyway, I took both pieces into the bank and was delighted when the young lady behind the counter said she could replace it!  turns out she also has a young dog so we compared stories and shared some laughs before I walked out with a fresh $20.  Damned dog.  

It is very cold and windy today so out trips outside have been short.  Fortunately, Jax is tired out from his big play day yesterday so he is content to snooze on the sofa.  

Dark with dried cherries and almonds today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.