A posing pileated

After walking in the park this afternoon, I was feeling a bit discouraged blipwise. No bird wanted to pose. At the point of heading home to see what might be visiting the bird buffet in our back yard, I heard the distant call of the pileated woodpecker. Heading in the direction of his call, I pulled out my iPhone, opened the iBird app, and responded. Almost immediately I spotted the PWP swooping through the trees. He landed fairly near me, but not in a good place for capturing a blip. After a few more calls back and forth and a lot of swooping (the bird, not me), he lighted on a fallen tree in a place I could reach. Success! It looks to me as if he is craning his head around to see if he can spot the woodpecker that was talking back to him. I'm not sure how I feel about tricking him like that, but we both got a lot of exercise, tracking down the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.