Surprise!

A day that ended better then it started.

#1 was very grumpy and angry all day. I think it all stemmed from fact the girls had been allowed to sleepover next door but they have to be out before 9 to get to their class.  It was downhill after that.  Nothing for lunch so I had to go Jaya for supplies.  Then there was a 'discussion' about the food for our trip.  Wen was out meeting friends and had sent an inaccessible list (well inaccessible to #1) so I ended up going to Plaza Damas with them (art class) and spending at least 90 minutes in Mercato.  But it has AC!  It also sells Domaine Tariquet wine, from near where I lived in Gascony.  You wouldn't see it in a supermarket in UK. .Then I got cash and I think I've been charged the fee - doh, I'm usually so careful about ATMs here.

The sun was out so I took the girls to the pool.  It could only be a relatively short 'swim' (mainly them jumping in and trying to do back flips) as I had to get changed for the dinner.

It took almost an hour to get to USJ but it turned out that because of the initial confusion with time some folk still thought it was 7 not 6. I thought it was just a dinner with 'the sisters'. Wen's maternal aunts, but turned out it was a surprise birthday party for #1 aunt, her 82nd. There were 8 sisters and 2 brothers, 3 brother-on-law and a sister-in-law there, but apart from Catherine, Wen's cousin who made the cake only the guest of honour's family were there plus me and the friend of the sister who lives in Sweden (the organiser). Fortuitously he lives in Mont Kiara so gave me a lift hie, avoiding the RM50 Grab fare.  I suppose that balances the charge to the bank. 

The family in the picture are amazing.  The matriarch who died in 2019 aged maybe 97 had 17 children, 15 survived, though a twin sister died in infancy and the eldest son is dead.  In the picture there are 8 of the sisters (#4, 5 (holiday Taiwan) and 11 (lives Singapore) are missing) and #2 and 3 brothers plus #2 brother's wife. The youngest, Angie in Singapore is 52.  They don't all have the same surname.  Most are Ng, the father's name, but there are a couple of Hwangs (including Wen's mum) and a Hwong.  Whatever, the names it was a great night with lots of good food, including my second Yee Sang of the season, wine and chocolate cake.

I came back to #1 and Wen Hui watching Wales being gubbed by Ireland and a few last fireworks from Souled Out.  I baled before England-Scotland,.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.