KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Bath Monitor Duty

Co-ordinated 
sleep patterns are the end game!
One step at a time!

So when we saw the dog trainer last week, she suggested I set my alarm and wake Leo for a wee at around 3am which is when he usually needs one, to try and stop him weeing on the floor.  She said each week I could set my alarm 15 mins later and see if eventually he can get through the night without needing a wee.  This seems great in theory.  In practice however, I am constantly worried that what I do in the night might wake Ben.  Even if we need a wee ourselves after 3am, we cross our legs so we don't wake Ben up and have to deal with the subsequent drama!  It's always fun in the KCNQ2Haiku household!  So I've been contemplating the alarm/wee thing but haven't actioned it yet, instead I've just been listening out for his first whimper around 3am and trying to whisk him off before he "leaks".  I have an approx 50% success rating.  Meh.  However this morning as a happy coincidence Ben woke at 2:30am (ha ha- how can that be a 'happy' anything?!?) so I sorted him out and then popped down and woke Leo up for a wee, which he obligingly did for me and then we all went back to bed.  Leo did however wake and whimper at 4:15am but since I knew he'd had a wee, I knew I could leave him for a bit to try and settle.  He actually didn't settle and eventually I took him out again and he did a number two.  So my plan wasn't perfect but at least he knew he wanted to go out and then he slept til nearly 6am which is a first.  So, I'm feeling positive :-D
Ben had a reasonable day, he was quite agitated in the car home because he left his goggles at swimming last week and although school rang the pool to find them and were told 'yes' they do have some goggles.. of course there's no guarantee they're his, so he wants me to buy new ones to take away the uncertainty.  I have promised to buy new ones, if the swimming pool's ones aren't ours but clearly I'm not spending unnecessary money and he really didn't like that.  Lots of "I need to know/stop the car/I'm going to take my seatbelt off and throw this (bottle top) at your head" etc etc.  It makes driving very stressful.  On the plus side he calmed down without taking off his seatbelt or doing anything daft.. but still  *collapses in a heap*
He's been OK ish since we got home, Mr KCNQ2Haiku has gone to the cinema with a friend, he barely ever does that, so I'm hoping he's having some fun :-) 
The rest of my day was fine, I had a Home-Start family walk in the morning which was lovely, I took Leo for a carry!  He was so good, so calm and chilled.  It was lunchtime when I got back, I had some emails to sort out and I FaceTimed my Dad and then it was time to fetch Ben, crazy how time flies.
Right, in the absence of Mr KCNQ2Haiku I'm Bath Monitor for Ben tonight, so I'd better go.  Leo is having a kip, as you can see!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.