Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Coming along nicely

(12/2/23)

It's the start of a new week. And we have the car back. YAY!

It was great to do something as normal as drive G to school after what feels like an age. "Sana Junction", as we call it, is where over 90% of our journeys begin, and the building in my blip has been under construction for a few years now. It replaced a G+M+3 futuristic building with the shop Sana Fashions on the ground floor (hence the name of the junction). When they demolished the building, I never thought they would build something as tall as this in its place. It is humongous for the area that it is in. I have to say I like the finishing of the facade - the pale sandy colour should keep it looking good after a sandstorm or two. :)

I dropped G off at school and swung around the beach to do the recycling. It was hard not to notice the loud noise of a fan whirring when I switched the engine off. I know the turbo makes a sound for a couple of minutes, but this went on and on. I got back to my car to move on to the next chore, but it wouldn't start. ARGH!! How can this be when it's been in the workshop for two weeks?!

I made a video and sent it to the service advisor. He recokned it's the battery, and if I looked through my records, I could still be under warranty, so I did, and I was, and I also happened to be within walking distance from where I bought the battery. Long story short, the garage replaced the battery after giving me a jump start to bring the car to them. Khalid has also organised assistance via the nearest branch, but they arrived at exatly the same time that I had sorted myself out.

I was late to pick G up. We couldn't race down the highway because Arab Health is on, and traffic around the Trade Centre is horrendous, so a slow drive up Beach Road to reach home within seconds of Petra and Nandi arriving. I went straight to my desk and stayed there for several hours. Not a great start to the week then.

We thought it would be best to take the car to the garage first thing in the morning rather than at the end of the work day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.