Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Back again

(12/2/23)

I had fully intended to go with G to the garage to see about the new problem that has emerged, but thinking in through, it was better if she drove there and I took a taxi to work. The plan worked well, as G was there by 7:45 AM, and as they needed the car to check it thoroughly, their courtesy driver drove her straight to school! Amazing.

My day at work passed happily enough. It was a challenge to get a taxi home. I tried for about 20 minutes, then decided the Metro has to suffice, so began my walk to it. Voila! An empty taxi appeared, and he was willing to take me the short distance to Karama. (G had already started to make her way to Rashidiya on the Metro)

Whilst in the taxi, I figured, now that I have wheels, I can meet G at the garage and get a first hand account of this new problem that's emerged, so we headed there. (We had to pick her up from the metro station first.)

I love how they put these covers on the seat, steering and gear handle to prevent soiling by mechanics! Khalid assured me that the problem is fixed, and the a/c fan won't run 5-10 minutes after switching off the engine. We seem to be having a lot of bad luck with the garage. When driving the car out, I noticed a large screw embedded in one of the front tyres. Khalid was beside himself by this stage. I said we would drive to the nearest tyre shop and get it seen to ourselves - which we did.

Back home, there was enough time to finish some things for work, get dressed, and head out to my counsin's daughter's first birthday party! It's been ages since I've been to a kids birthday. We didn't know anyone else there, but by the end of the evening, I had met another cousin's daughter and a few other fellow believers from my home country. I was the "unofficial" photographer for the evening. :)

We got home nicely, shut the engine off, and the a/c fan kept running. I am speechless. We waited the five minutes it took to switch off. At least with a new battery, we know the car will start in the morning.

And that is the end of the first month of 2023. It's been non-stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.