Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reflections

(12/2/23)

Gosh! It's so good to get to Friday! I woke early to clear some stuff for work before meeting up with Diane for a walk at Al Seef. She couldn't believe it when I showed up at her car without a camera! I figured, as we're meeting later in the afternoon, I'll get my pictures then. It turned out I got my weeks wrong! Our evening meet-up isn't until next Friday.

There were cameras involved in our walk anyway - a film shoot! So elaborate, they had taken over one section of the mall and recreated an Indian street scene, complete with new shop names! I *wish* I had a camera to record it!! I happened to spot someone (Gareth) I'd met at Gladson's place when we waited for the New Year's fireworks. He informed us they are filming a Pepsi commercial featuring a prominent Indian film star. There you go! I introduced Diane to the Arabian Tea House in Bastakiya. She loved it! I wish I'd carved out the time and taken blast and rachelwhynot during their visit.

The big news is that my little YouTube channel hit 2,000 subscribers yesterday, and I wanted to celebrate it. I have been so busy since November I haven't created a new video since then, and I do almost nothing to promote the channel, so it is pretty much self propogating.

G & I headed to Skafos for Happy Hour drinks only to find they don't do that anymore. So we went to the Sol Sky Bar, where they have new staff. I had my DSLR with me - something they don't like up there, so we promptly left. We enjoyed fruit cocktails at Ila while watching the birds fly home.

And then I said to G that she really must see this film shoot, so we walked to it. By this stage, they were well past the setup and were into the filming, so the cordons were in full force, and security guards were deterring people from taking any pictures - even on their phones.

I got a shot of a balloon seller who had come to see what was happening. I love these new transparent balloons and how the lights reflect off them! Home for dinner and to cruise into the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.