Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Marine transport

It was GREAT to wake up whenever I was ready! That said, my weekend alarm is set for 8:30, so I still heard it!

There was a lovely cool breeze when walking back to the car last night. I reckon it is the first time I have felt "cold" when outdoors in years! Happily, the cooler weather has continued. Not wanting to miss/waste/lose it, we thought of outdoor things to do. We settled on a marine ride. There is a boat service for the Jadaf Shipyard area to Business Bay. It is mentioned on a few of the RTA's promotional material but is not a regular scheduled service.

I tried to search online for more info, but it was a waste of time, so we decided to head to the marine station to find out more. In the worst-case scenario, we could catch an "abra" to Festival City, where G had a couple of things she wanted.

So, the result of the enquiry: there is no service from Jadaf to Business Bay, but twice a day, you can catch a ferry from the Shindagah area to Dubai Marina. It takes two hours. Now that is a trip that would be good to do.

We waited for the water bus, enjoying seeing things from a different angle, including Festival City itself. We went back to IKEA, where I bought myself a new chair to do my work from home. We also looked at sofas. G got what she wanted from Carrefour, and we were home in time for 4 o'clock tea. I would have loved to stay out longer to enjoy the cool breeze, but there is always so much to do in the flat. It's been a good day.

PS. G took both pictures today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.