Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mourning

(12/2/23)

Gosh. You'd have to be living in the twilight zone if you've missed the news about the devastating 7.8 magnitude earthquake that happened in Turkey yesterday in the early hours of the 6th. G dropped me off at work, and I immediately noticed the Turkish flag flying at half mast. A nation in mourning with so much work to do, starting with finding survivors! (The building I work in houses the Turkish Consulate).

The work day passed. There seems to be an atmosphere in the office. Last week, several people were made redundant. I couldn't help wondering if internal communications (that I am not part of) are sending out more sombre messages. Anyway, I kept my head down and was pleased to be leaving at the end of the day. I'm so glad I managed to get a quick shot of the flags before jumping into a taxi.

Home for the rest of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.