From an unusual angle

The 2 hours+ 38kms+ (39.5kms according to Peloton...I had two tracking apps....but didn't manage to set the trip meter on the bike to add a third....) ride I did this morning is in the extras. I am officially a complete convert to my electric bike. I headed up as if going to work, and joined the canal at Fountainbridge. Aside from getting off to walk over the narrow aqueduct, I didn't stop until I had got to the top of the Water of Leith path in Balerno. From there, I headed up as if going to Harlaw, but then carried on along paths/tracks new to me to the coffee stop at Clubbiedean Reservoir. It was very busy....Lots of people wearing bits of Scotland kit, probably wanting to persuade you they were there yesterday for the record victory over Wales. Presumably soon enough the entire population of Scotland, pretty much, will claim to have been there to see it. I actually overtook someone on a bike wearing a Doddie Weir cycling top. I don't suppose he'd taken part in the 555 mile ride that just concluded yesterday, but if he did, kudos for being out and about again so soon.

Riding the electric bike is bizarre. I did keep outpacing people who would normally leave me for dust. It's hard to put your finger on just why it's such a great experience, but I guess it is that sense of being able to surmount hills and see views and take in distance that would not be much fun for me nowadays, without the electric bike. Suffice it to say, that's the first long cycle ride I have done since before the pandemic (my #bellesonbikes rides are here), and definitely the longest I have done on my own since for ever.... I know I regularly used to cycle upwards of 50kms with the Belles, but somehow it's different when you are on your own. But hopefully the electric bike will make a difference, plus I'm looking forward to using the pushbike in Tain this coming summer. Then I won't have the hassle of having to find acceptable routes out of a pretty large conurbation before enjoying country air and views.

Anyway, after coffee and a (cinnamon) bun at Clubbiedean, I stopped a few times on the way down the other side along Torduff reservoir, including getting this blip. After that, I used google maps to guide me along roads to the bottom of the Roseburn zigzags and then headed home along the well known paths via the red bridge etc. etc.

The ride has made me pleasantly, but not excessively, tired, so hopefully that, combined with not working much this weekend plus reading quite a bit of my Greek Revolution book (always a bit gory tbh) will see me getting another decent night's sleep and feeling set up for what I hope will not be too trying a week at work.

Already thinking about where I might go next week.... North Berwick, perhaps?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.