A LAKE OF TWO HALVES

Anyway we did have a lovely day today, which had nothing to do with it being Valentine's Day.  According to the weather forecast it was going to be sunny in this area all day, so we made the most of it and decided to go out on one of my church projects.

I decided we'd go to Hawkshead whilst it is still nice and quiet.  We left about 9.30 and on the way I noticed the refletions at Esthwaite Water so we stopped off in the car park so I could take a couple of photos.  Towards the left the mist had lifted but still left some haze but with great reflections, to the right it was stil misty (as you can see in extras  - looks like two different days or lakes but it wasn't).

I met a lady there who was just packing up.  She was a "proper" photographer and had the all equipement and had been since it was dark apparently.  She obviously knows what she is doing, whereas a lot of the time I'm just winging it on the bit of knowledge that I have.  Still it was lovely to meet her as its always nice to meet other photographers.  

we then conitinued on our way to Hawkshead and were there by 10.15 and it was very quiet then.  A few people about but not too many.

We went into PoppiRed for coffee (ooh and I had soe delicious apple cake (warmed with pouring cream) and Hubby had Raspberry Frangipan.  Now PoppiRed used to be a gift shop that had a cafe.  It's now a Bistro.  It was the only place open for coffee today so we had no choice really  Having said that the coffee and cakes were lovely and the service friendly and nice.  The only thing I didn't like is they had the usual generic music in the background, not too bad, but they also had a TV screen, no sound of course just words, but I'm not keen on that when I'm out.  However I accept I'm old and old fashioned (and very proud of that).  

After that we went up to the church - St Michael's and All Angels.  More about this tomorow when I will make up another collage.  I have been beffore but not for a while. It is a lovely church and helpful boads in there.  We met a lady in there who was really nice, she was a local but didn't work for the church, she was in taking some photos for a friend.  She had a gorgeous dog who was 12 years old, which apparenlty is very old that breed of dog, I can't remember what but a smallish terrier.  Of course we became firm friends.

We then walked around the lovley church grounds, which fantastic views, although still hazy and cloudy - the promised sunny day did not materialise.  Then we beyond the gorunds, through a field and down backroads to re-enter Hawkshead from a different area.

We met the lady and her dog en-route several times that day and the dog was always happy to see me (likewise).  

We then wandered around the village with me taking a few photos whilst it was quiet.  Still a lot not et opened but it won't be long before it is all fully re-opened again.

We were going to go into The Queen's Head - the only pub open during the day I think, but it is 17th centry so met my requirements.  However we both agreed that we weren't hungry  so decided to move on.  We mt the lady again coming out of the pub (she was visiting her friend who lived there).

We then drove on to Ambleside and were going to sto[p somewhere en-route, but I said let's go the Windermere Jetty.  So there we headed.  However we couldn't get it it was heaving with folk.  Never mind.  We pressed on.  Bowness was busy as usual but made worse by the traffic lights right bang on the roundabout and were stuck there for 10 minutes.  

We headed for home, however going past Haverthwaite Station I noticed Steam - so pulled in to go there for lunch.  I managed to get a couple of photos with the steam train called David in full steam at the station - yeah.  However we couldn't get in the cafe because apparently it was completely booked up.  A special event and party I think.

We then decided we would call into The Pheasant at Allithwaite for lunch. It too was full but we could get in and had a really lovely lunch and I admit to succoming to a Pink Fizz - Gin, Prosecco and Lemonade - a very large glass.  I'm now a little giggly (it doesn't take much as I rarely drink these days).

Now I'm home with loads of photos to process.

For those of you that like to use Google to follow my journey I left Grange-over-Sands on the B5271, onto the A590 to Newby Bridge then joined the B5285 to Esthwaite Water and Hawkshead.  From Hawkshead we rejoined the B5285, then the B5286 to Ambleside.  After that we joined the A591 to Windermere,  Bowness then the A590 at Newby Bridge to Haverthwaite before joining the B5278 to Allithwaite and then home.

A really lovely day. 

Do take care everyone, stay safe and have a good day.  I am aware that I am behind on comments, I will catch up with all of those either today or tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.